Booths gun
02-08-2013, 11:52 AM
Booths gun
Looking for an answer to a couple of questions. First is there a model number for Booths Derringer? How many were made and do any of the same model exist today?
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-08-2013, 02:32 PM
RE: Booths gun
Where's Wes Harris? He's the gun expert.
Find all posts by this user
02-08-2013, 03:50 PM
I don't believe any of the Derringers had model numbers, including the one owned by Booth. However, I am not an expert either.

Bill Nash
02-08-2013, 04:01 PM
There's no model number and no serial number.

"There are few subjects that ignite more casual, uninformed bigotry and condescension from elites in this nation more than Dixie - Jonah Goldberg"
02-08-2013, 04:37 PM (This post was last modified: 02-08-2013 04:52 PM by LincolnMan.)
I believe the weapon at Ford's had some damage to it? But it isn't known how it occured-possible when Booth tossed it down in the box?

Bill Nash
02-08-2013, 04:51 PM
(02-08-2013 04:37 PM)LincolnMan Wrote:  I believe the weapon at Ford's had some damage to it? But it isn't known how it occured-poosible when Booth tossed it down in the box?

Bill, it's probably from spending days on end with 2nd graders, but that typo really made me laugh.

Regarding your question, yes the derringer was damaged. This picture shows the damage near the barrel:
[Image: booths-derringer.jpg?w=800]

Wes will know better the history of the weapon and how the damage could have occurred, but as you say, anything's poosible.
02-08-2013, 04:51 PM (This post was last modified: 02-08-2013 04:55 PM by LincolnMan.)
(02-08-2013 02:32 PM)Laurie Verge Wrote:  Where's Wes Harris? He's the gun expert.

Laurie: Are you guys being hit by the storm? My part of Michigan got about 6 inhes but it's over for us.

(02-08-2013 04:51 PM)Dave Taylor Wrote: