Garrett Farm
08-27-2013, 08:36 AM
Garrett Farm
Hello Everyone! I am a newbie to this forum and have only been reading and studing the assassination of Lincoln a few months. I am totally addicted and have so many questions! I'm sure this has been discussed on this forum previously but can someone please direct me to a thread regarding why Booth and Herold decided to stay at the Garrett farm when they were offered transportation to leave? Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
08-27-2013, 09:01 AM
RE: Garrett Farm
First, welcome to the forum "Mom," and may I say that your daughter's name is lovely and very old-fashioned - such a pleasant change from our modern "selections."

I'm not sure how to answer your question because I'm not sure what "offered transportation" you are referring to. Upon leaving the ferry at Port Royal, they were sharing horse backs with two of the three returning Confederates. When Mr. Garrett agreed to take them in, only Booth remained the first night. Herold actually went on with the soldiers and returned the next day.

From that point on, I don't remember anyone offering them transportation. Their strange behavior caused the Garretts to ask them to leave, but no offer of transportation was made. In fact, they were banished to the barn and the door was locked without their knowledge because the family feared that they would steal their horses in the dark of night.
08-27-2013, 09:15 AM
Be careful- the study of the Lincoln assassination can be addicting!

Bill Nash
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
08-27-2013, 09:34 AM (This post was last modified: 08-27-2013 09:35 AM by hannahrozesmom.)
(08-27-2013 09:01 AM)L Verge Wrote:  First, welcome to the forum "Mom," and may I say that your daughter's name is lovely and very old-fashioned - such a pleasant change from our modern "selections."