Gettysburg Address 150 years later
11-19-2012, 10:33 PM
Gettysburg Address 150 years later
I am new to your discussion forum but a big fan of all things Lincoln and the civil war. I have been reading all of your subject information both questions and answers and have learned so many new things about our president that I didnot know. My purpose for writing today is to tell everyone about the wonderful trip to Gettysburg this past weekend. To start my wife and I stayed at the Doubleday Inn which is the only B & B Located on the battlefield. We went to parade which was like no parade I have ever seen. then went to remembrance Illumination at National Cemetery. I am sure that all of you have seen this ceremony but this was first time for me and words cannot express how it made my wife and I feel. Saturday night my wife and I dressed in our civilwar attire attended our first ball. What a time we had. Had to leave on sunday so was unable to hear Mr. Lincoln give his Gettysburg address on monday. Thank you all for your expertise. Gary
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-20-2012, 12:07 AM
RE: Gettysburg Address 150 years later
Welcome. to the group. Gettysburg was a big deal still is and the emotions that oversome one when there are beyond anything anyone can describe. It has great magnitude. i hadnt realized it was 150 years ago. I hope to be able to go back to Gettysburg.
11-20-2012, 07:22 AM (This post was last modified: 11-20-2012 07:23 AM by BettyO.)
Welcome aboard ,Gary!