Are we scholars?
07-19-2015, 04:33 PM
Are we scholars?
I've been introduced by others many times as a "Lincoln scholar"- to which I have always replied that I am not. Like the members of this great Forum- I consider myself a "student" of Lincoln. Still, I ask the question: Are we indeed scholars in some sense? We certainly know more about Lincoln than the average person. We also have been studying him a long time. Academically, my degrees are in Psychology-not history. But does one need a degree in the subject at hand to be considered a scholar? Does one need a degree at all? Alright my fellow "scholars"- your thoughts please!

Bill Nash
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-19-2015, 04:41 PM (This post was last modified: 07-19-2015 04:51 PM by BettyO.)
RE: Are we scholars?
I am a published author - I am a scholar; Not a Lincoln scholar, mind you; but more or less a scholar of the assassination - at least I hope to be! I think we're ALL scholars in this sense (or any field we're passionate about and wish to continue learning)....one does not have to have a degree in order to be considered a scholar. As long as one can read, write and has a desire to learn and research, they are scholars in at least once sense. A professional scholar is one who is paid to research, etc. on a continuing basis or is employed by a university/school; at least that is my understanding. It doesn't mean that I'm any better than anyone else. I have a Master's degree in History. That and 10 cents won't buy a cup of coffee nowadays, unfortunately. All I have to show for all the work is a piece of paper to hang on the wall and literally mountains of debt.....

"The Past is a foreign country...they do things differently there" - L. P. Hartley
Find all posts by this user
07-19-2015, 04:52 PM