New Novel - The Open Doorway
01-25-2015, 07:37 AM
New Novel - The Open Doorway
This thread introduces my novel, The Open Doorway - a tale of time travel set against the background of the Civil War and the Lincoln Assassination. Two years in the research and writing, it's 440 pages long.

Writing is something I've done for many years, though mostly in the form of short stories and articles which I've had published in the UK. I'm also a graphic artist and have designed book covers for other writers. Therefore, it was easy for me to produce my own cover art work for my book.

I had an immense amount of help, advice and guidance from my dear friend, Betty Ownsbey, who's been kind enough to share all her vast knowledge of this era, and the life of Lewis Powell. Barry Cauchon and John Elliot were also kind enough to share information with me regarding the final days of the conspirators and the layout and details of the Old Arsenal Penitentiary.

Too, this forum gave me many insights into all matters Civil War, and I'm forever grateful to all those who share information and ideas on here.

It has to be said that The Open Doorway has a mystical theme, involving time travel and Shawnee mythology, and it also has adult themes. While it is basically an historical fantasy romance novel, it's also very gritty and hard hitting in parts, and, though I did my best to adhere to the historical facts, I did take some liberties for the sake of artistic licence.

Here is the synopsis.