Daniel Boone
04-21-2014, 08:55 AM (This post was last modified: 04-21-2014 08:59 AM by LincolnMan.)
Daniel Boone
I have been a student of Daniel Boone for long time. We all know that Boone journeyed through the Cumberland Gap on the way to the "dark and bloody ground". - and that Abraham Lincoln (Thomas Lincoln's father) was among that party on that particular trip. I am always amazed at the places Daniel Boone went to. Did you know he visited and bought property in Pensacola? His wife Becky refused to move there. When in his 50's, he and Becky went to Maryland to visit. Of course, he eventually left Kentucky and settled in Missouri. Legend has it that before he died in 1820- he had even explored out as far west as the Yellowstone area. Truly fascinating person! Abraham Lincoln's story may have been quite different if his grandfather hadn't agreed to follow Boone to Kentucky. Maybe we would never have heard of Abraham Lincoln!

Forgot to add this: Boone even spent time in my hometown Detroit- as a P.O.W. During the Revolution!

Bill Nash
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-21-2014, 09:04 AM
RE: Daniel Boone
Wonderful post, Bill. In the past, folks have written me asking if Abraham Lincoln were related to Daniel Boone. In researching this I found that William E. Barton had traced the lineage of Abraham Lincoln and found that the connection to Daniel Boone was through another branch of the Lincolns, not the Lincolns who were Abraham's ancestors. However, the error (assuming Mr. Barton's research is accurate) that Abraham Lincoln and Daniel Boone were related has been repeated in some books.
Find all posts by this user
04-21-2014, 09:55 AM
(04-21-2014 08:55 AM)LincolnMan Wrote:  Abraham Lincoln's story may have been quite different if his grandfather hadn't agreed to follow Boone to Kentucky. Maybe we would never have heard of Abraham Lincoln!
Didn't Mary's grandfather Levi Todd follow Boone to Kentucky, too?