Lincoln Discussion Symposium
Surratt Commission and Anna Surratt - Printable Version

+- Lincoln Discussion Symposium (https://rogerjnorton.com/LincolnDiscussionSymposium)
+-- Forum: Lincoln Discussion Symposium (/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Assassination (/forum-5.html)
+--- Thread: Surratt Commission and Anna Surratt (/thread-1908.html)

Pages: 1 2

Surratt Commission and Anna Surratt - Warren - 09-14-2014 04:58 PM

Hi, all - a newbie here, and of course, I have to ask newbie questions! I am a longtime Lincoln follower, and take a big interest in the assassination. Attached are some pictures I have of the Surratt Commission, and a ambro or tintype of a woman, who to me, looks a lot like Anna Surratt. Now the questions:

My Surratt Commission photo is on a heavy copper plate and I would think was used for a newspaper or magazine. I would guess that copper engravings were not in use at the time of the assassination and woodcuts would have been used. When did they start using copper plates, and would this have been made from the original negative (Gardner's) or could it have been made from any existing photo?

Regarding the lady in the photo, could this be Anna Surratt? I understand only two photos of her exist. Not much provenance on this one; I bought it at a garage sale. Thanks for all your help.

[undefined=undefined][Image: bvZEIn.jpg]
[Image: nv6g1W.jpg]
[Image: pUNyA6.jpg]

Last question- is there anyway to reset my password to less than 27 characters?

RE: Surratt Commission and Anna Surratt - RJNorton - 09-14-2014 05:02 PM

Warren, welcome to the forum! Yes, I will give you another password and email it to you.

RE: Surratt Commission and Anna Surratt - Warren - 09-14-2014 05:20 PM

(09-14-2014 05:02 PM)RJNorton Wrote:  Warren, welcome to the forum! Yes, I will give you another password and email it to you.

Thanks! Got it, and will now work on better photos and an avatar.

RE: Surratt Commission and Anna Surratt - L Verge - 09-14-2014 06:48 PM