Lincoln Discussion Symposium
The Battle Hymn of the Republic - Printable Version

+- Lincoln Discussion Symposium (https://rogerjnorton.com/LincolnDiscussionSymposium)
+-- Forum: Lincoln Discussion Symposium (/forum-1.html)
+--- Forum: Abraham Lincoln - The White House Years (/forum-3.html)
+--- Thread: The Battle Hymn of the Republic (/thread-1388.html)

The Battle Hymn of the Republic - RJNorton - 12-21-2013 06:58 AM

Thanks to Laurie for sending her comments and this link.

"When I was a senior in high school, I was a member of the All-County Chorus. At our final performance, we did the exact same rendition of the Battle Hymn as what is sung here. Then, as a teacher, I watched as the choir at our junior high performed it the same way. The song will always be one of my favorite pieces of music, and this rendition is the best there is."

RE: The Battle Hymn of the Republic - Angela - 12-21-2013 01:40 PM

(12-21-2013 06:58 AM)RJNorton Wrote:  Thanks to Laurie for sending her comments and this link.

"When I was a senior in high school, I was a member of the All-County Chorus. At our final performance, we did the exact same rendition of the Battle Hymn as what is sung here. Then, as a teacher, I watched as the choir at our junior high performed it the same way. The song will always be one of my favorite pieces of music, and this rendition is the best there is."

Thanks for that Roger - it totally reminded me that I wanted find out whether Dave Alvin ever released his version from the movie "Saving Lincoln" - looks like he still didn't! Too bad - I fell in love with this when I heard it there at the end!
But I just noticed that it is on youtube - here

RE: The Battle Hymn of the Republic - RJNorton - 12-21-2013 02:46 PM

Amazing, Angela. Thank you. Both Salvador Litvak, and his wife, Nina, are members here.

RE: The Battle Hymn of the Republic - Angela - 12-21-2013 03:14 PM