Seeking Lincoln expert for New Travel Channel series
05-28-2013, 02:29 PM
Seeking Lincoln expert for New Travel Channel series
Hello! I'm an associate producer working on a new show for the Travel Channel AND I'm looking for a Boston based historian with expert knowledge on Lincoln who would be comfortable being on camera. Our segment focuses on a hotel where John Wilkes Booth stayed prior to his journey to Washington DC and the assassination of Lincoln. Wilkes Booth checked into the hotel 9 days prior to practice his gun firing skills. Does anyone on the forum have any specific knowledge on this event that they could share? Thanks All
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-28-2013, 04:16 PM
RE: Seeking Lincoln expert for New Travel Channel series
I would think that Mr. Arthur Loux would be the ideal person. His book, John Wilkes Day by Day should be out soon - he has researched the subject for over 35 years. Please send me a private message and I can fill you in on the particulars.

Thanks and Welcome to our Forum! You'll find we're very friendly and congenial as well as knowledgeable. Mr. Loux however does not live in Boston.

"The Past is a foreign country...they do things differently there" - L. P. Hartley
05-28-2013, 04:41 PM
Sounds like a great subject.

Bill Nash
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
05-28-2013, 06:08 PM
I would certainly agree on Art Loux being a great person to consult with, but he's based in Kansas. Closer to the Boston area would be Dr. Thomas Turner, retired professor from Bridgewater College in Massachusetts and author of several books on the Lincoln assassination. A third recommendation would be Dr. Terry Alford, who lives in the Metropolitan D.C. area and will have what is likely to be the definitive biography of JWB coming out in 2014. All three men have years and years of experience in the field.