Mary's purchase ....
04-29-2013, 09:29 AM
Mary's purchase ....

I just read something last night that gave me chills! I started a brand new book (for me), written in ‘08, called, “They Have Killed Papa Dead,” taken from a quote by little Tad Lincoln when he heard about his father’s death.

Anyway, this historian decided to take the “road less taken” to see what he could discover about Lincoln’s assassination — not in public documentation, but in private letters and journals of people it touched most at the time.

Searching the White House financial expenditures around the time, the bookkeeper documented that about a MONTH before the assassination, Mary Lincoln bought about a thousands dollars’ worth of “mourning goods and fabric”....

ISN’T THAT BIZARRE???? Did she have a premonition that was not documented nowhere else, not even by herself??!!

I'm sure I'm new to this informati
on... does anyone else know anything further about this???
Thank you!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-29-2013, 09:39 AM
RE: Mary's purchase ....
More or less in reference to Willie's death (February of 1862) perhaps? Although by that time, she should have been out of mourning. Does anyone know if she put off mourning for Willie after a year or so?

Some mothers wore mourning until they died; according to one source, Lew Powell's mother did. Queen Victoria also wore mourning for her Albert until she died as well.... it could depend on the individual.

"The Past is a foreign country...they do things differently there" - L. P. Hartley
04-29-2013, 10:03 AM
(04-29-2013 09:39 AM)BettyO Wrote:  More or less in reference to Willie's death (February of 1862) perhaps? Although by that time, she should have been out of mourning. Does anyone know if she put off mourning for Willie after a year or so?