Another Mary....
01-25-2017, 08:15 PM (This post was last modified: 01-25-2017 08:20 PM by BettyO.)
Another Mary....
She truly did turn the world on with her smile.

I was shocked and saddened to hear that Mary Tyler Moore had passed away this morning. I had the great fortune to meet her back in 1987 when she played Mary Todd Lincoln to Sam Waterston's Abe in Gore Vidal's Lincoln. The film was shot in Richmond and Petersburg and I worked as an extra. She was as charming and down to earth in person as the TV characters she so wonderfully portrayed. I'll dig out some photos....

"The Past is a foreign country...they do things differently there" - L. P. Hartley
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-26-2017, 06:29 AM
RE: Another Mary....
Vicki and I were saddened by the passing of Mary Tyler Moore. The Mary Tyler Moore Show was one of our absolute favorites during the 1970s.
01-26-2017, 06:48 AM
I'd forgotten that she played Mrs. Lincoln. By all accounts she wass a wonderful person.
Trivia question: she played a nun in what movie?

Bill Nash
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
01-26-2017, 10:43 AM
Change of Habit, Elvis' last acting role. She made it after all to TV Heaven. While I wasn't a fan of her portrayal of Mary Lincoln, I will always remember her as Laura Petrie.

Thomas Kearney, Professional Photobomber.
01-26-2017, 05:25 PM
Right on Thomas! Actually a really decent Elvis movie. Both Elvis and Mary looked great!

Bill Nash
01-27-2017, 08:07 AM
Mary Tyler Moore has a Confederate ancester- Lewis T. Moore. He served under Jackson.

Bill Nash
01-27-2017, 10:08 AM
So Betty.....are you in Lincoln, and where?
01-27-2017, 01:22 PM