Another Camping Trip
04-18-2014, 09:26 PM (This post was last modified: 04-23-2014 04:14 PM by Eva Elisabeth.)
Another Camping Trip
Well, meanwhile I'm back from my spring break camping trip, too. Contrary to Dave's, mine was almost completely unprepared (yes, these Germans are crazy). The entire idea and decision to realize this trip hit me the weekend after returning from the Surratt conference.

First of all I had in mind to camp one night at Dry Tortugas. The way Tom Bogar had described it in "Backstage at the Lincoln Assassination" fascinated me. Also I love the sea, tropic climate and heat, such kind of adventure, and as a biologist I am interested in the birds. Dave Taylor once posted the idea and possibility to camp there, and I thought if he's going to do his Booth experiment, I'll try this. Although in the end it didn't work out to camp there, still it was fantastic. It almost didn't work out to go there at all, because I hadn't booked the ferry in advance. Dave, please think of this!! (But you will sure plan more carefully.) The only thing I had really organized was booking a last-minute flight+car package, and getting a street map with camping sites from the ADAC (our AAA). Well, there wasn't much time for planning details.

Despite Dry Tortugas, I only knew I wanted to see the Gamble Plantation, Powell's grave, the Dali Museum, the Ringling Museum, J. Lennon's cars in the Classic Car Museum in Sarasota, the Hemingway House, the Everglades (I had already visited some of these places in 1990), and at least one aquarium. (And to do a lot of birdwatching and swimming in the sea.) Some of these places are linked with Lincoln and the CW, so I would like to share some photos, info, and experiencs, also in case someone will one day visit the area (hope there's any interest in this). Like Dave, I won't make this all at once, but one by one, and will start now with Dry Tortugas.